Plagiarism corner #4: Crusha vs. ‘Funny’ Cats

You wait for one ad blatantly ripping off moderately innovative videos from the interweb of c. 2005, and then a bunch come along at once.

This time it’s milky sugar-drink purveyors Crusha getting in on the act:

Where have you seen it before? Your email inbox probably (if you can be bothered to wait through the overlong ‘opening titles’ sequence – seriously, do you want to be associated with this?):

Actually, I’m sure an even more ‘wild’ video was doing the round that had a whole band made up of badly-animated kittens. I would have spent longer looking for it, but I was paralysed by not caring (thank you Joss Whedon for another phrase I can’t remember how I ever did without).

UPDATE: As several commenters have pointed out, the Crusha ad is actually BY the person who did the originals: www.rathergood.com. Is it plagiarism if you use your own idea?!?

April 9, 2008. Tags: , , , , . crusha, Plagiarism Corner, TV ads.

2 Comments

  1. Tom replied:

    Not a rip-off, I think – I’m pretty sure Joel Veitch, who’s been doing kitten animations in this style for years, did these adverts himself. He’s a member of b3ta, the forum that the guy who made these other kitten animations is also a member of, so in many ways the second video is inspired by the original version of the first video. Or something like that…

  2. danlawson replied:

    I stand corrected! I guess that leads to a debate about how these ideas find themselves rehashed in ads – I can’t help but find it a bit miserable but I suppose you can’t argue. I actually really like this ad in any case, but then I’m a sucker for anything cat-related.

    I actually suspect the Sacla ads, which I gave a similar grilling to a week or two back, may have had more to do with Lasse Gjertsen then I let on – I met him at an event back in late 07 and he did say he had ad agencies buzzing around like flies. At the time he was militant about not selling out to them with his ideas…I wonder what really happened?

Leave a comment

Trackback URI